ISMO

Institut des Sciences Moléculaires d'Orsay


Partenaires

CNRS UPS




Search

Friday 28 February


Site update
Friday 28 February


Home > Research Teams > Molecular systems, Astrophysics and Environment > Experimental tools

Experimental tools

ICARE

ICARE is a versatile setup which consists in a pulsed molecular beam source coupled to a time-of-flight mass spectrometer. Various radical and ion sources (electric discharge, pyrolysis, laser photolysis, electron gun, laser desorption) can be combined with the skimmed supersonic expansion. The ionization step can be performed by laser (UV multi-photon or VUV one-photon processes) or by electron impact (…)

Read more

INSOLITE (INterstellar SOlids LaboraTory Experiment)

INSOLiTE (INterstellar SOlids LaboraTory Experiment) is an experimental set-up dedicated to the study of the fate of interstellar analogous produced in the lab and characterized by IR spectroscopy when they are irradiated by UV radiation. IINSOLITE set-up

Read more

Cavity Ring Down Spectroscopy (CRDS)

This technique generally consists in measuring the decay time of a laser pulse fired into a rigid high finesse optical cavity made of two highly reflective spherical mirrors. When the cavity is empty, the decay time depends only on the speed of light, on the mirror reflectivity and on the cavity length. When an absorbing specie fills the cavity, the decay time decreases. By measuring the decay time constant for the empty and for the filled cavity, it is therefore possible to obtain the (…)

Read more

BB-DEFCOM-CRDS

Recently, we have initiated the development of a new technique, firstly introduced by Chandler et al [1] and called Dual Etalon Frequency Comb Cavity Ring-Down Spectrometer, but extended to broadband (BB) laser sources. The principle consist in generating two slightly different frequency combs out of two high finesse optical cavities of similar but not equal lengths. Heterodyning is then used to measure the beat notes thanks to the Fourier Transform (FT) analysis of the signal from the (…)

Read more

Nanograins

In this set-up, a flat burner (McKenna) provides flames of premixed hydrocarbon and oxygen gases at various richness’s. Such a laminar flame is a one-dimensional chemical reactor offering a broad range of combustion conditions and sampling of by-products. The burner is installed in a chamber operated at low pressure, typically in the range from 20 to 100 mbar by continuous pumping. The by-products are then extracted by a water cooled quartz cone (hole diameter 0.2-2 mm) inserted into the (…)

Read more

Firefly

The setup includes a cell containing the photoexcited gas-phase molecules and the FIREFLY (spectrometer dedicated to the measurement of weak IR emission signals). The FIREFLY spectrometer holds narrow bandpass interference circular variable filters, replicated from the ISOCAM instrument onboard of the ISO satellite (1996-1998). The filters have a high transmission (75% at 3.3 μm) and a moderate resolving power (λ/δλ = 45 at 3.3 μm). Specific ellipsoidal mirrors shape the collected IR beam to (…)

Read more

Solar-CAPTE

Our instrument is based on a conventional laser flash photolysis method probing the transient absorption. Two specific developments have been introduced. We use a nanosecond supercontinuum light source for the probe laser and 1 or 2 pulsed nanosecond lasers for sequential double-pump probe experiments. An ICCD coupled to a monochromator is used to measure the transient absorption spectra for two cells (pumped + reference cell) simultaneously. General scheme of the Solar-CAPTE (…)

Read more

AGAT

Experiments are conducted at the Tandem accelerator in Orsay, at IPNO, using the AGAT set-up. Collisions between molecular projectiles (Cn+, CnHm+, CnN+) delivered by the accelerator and rare gas atoms occur in a gaseous jet of known thickness allowing absolute cross sections to be derived. The thickness is varied by changing the flow rate through the jet’s capillary. Fragments produced by dissociation of molecular projectiles in the collision are deflected, according to their charge over (…)

Read more

SSAM (Submillimeter Spectrometer for Astrophysical Molecules)

We have developed a millimeter and submillimeter-wave spectrometer dedicated to the investigation of the rotational spectrum of both stable and reactive species of astrophysical interest. The spectrometer, based on the exploitation of electronic sources and a frequency multiplication chain (VDI), operates in the 75 - 900 GHz region thus matching ideally the current astronomical observations using for instance ALMA and NOEMA.
Several set-ups allowing the production of reactive species can (…)

Read more

FIR-Reacts

In association with the AILES beamline of synchrotron SOLEIL, we developed two absorption cells designed to probe the chemical composition of plasma discharges using synchrotron-based Fourier transform spectroscopy in the far-infrared region. The optical design of both absorption cells is identical and permit to obtain about 24 meter absorption pathlength and these two cells are equipped with electrodes having different configurations. The first set-up is optimized to study the spectra of (…)

Read more

FIR-Carbons

In association with the AILES beamline of synchrotron SOLEIL,, we developed a multipass cell which optics permit to reach about 150 meters absorption pathlength. The set-up is designed to study the rotationally resolved spectra of relatively large C-bearing molecules (such as PAHs, diamondoids, and biphenyls) in the far-IR spectral region using the synchrotron continuum and the Fourier Transform interferometer of the AILES beamline. More generally, the high sensitivity of this experimental (…)

Read more

Laser equipments

TDL+ dye laser (Quantel) pumped by a frequency doubled or tripled nanosecond Nd:YAG laser (Spectra-Physics, Pro-250) delivering 120 mJ at 600 nm, repetition rate 10 Hz. The output of the dye can be doubled and tripled. Optical Parametric Oscillator (MOPO, Spectra-Physics) pumped by a frequency tripled seeded nanosecond Nd:YAG laser (Spectra-Physics, Pro-250) delivering 60 mJ at 500 nm, repetition rate 10 Hz. Broadband OPO (Basiscan, GWU) pumped by a frequency tripled nanosecond Nd:YAG laser (…)

Read more

ISMO

Institut des Sciences Moléculaires d'Orsay


Partenaires

CNRS UPS




Rechercher

mercredi 19 décembre


Mise à jour
mardi 18 décembre


Accueil > Équipes scientifiques > Systèmes Moléculaires, Astrophysique et Environnement (SYSTEMAE) > Outils expérimentaux

Outils expérimentaux

ICARE

ICARE est un montage expérimental versatile qui comprend un faisceau moléculaire pulsé couplé à un spectromètre de masse par temps de vol. Des sources de radicaux et d’ions variées (décharge électrique, pyrolyse, photolyse laser, canon à électron, désorption laser) peuvent être combinées avec l’expansion supersonique écorcée. L’étape d’ionisation est réalisée par laser (processus multiphotonique UV ou processus à un photon VUV) ou par impact électronique. Montage ICARE couplé à une source radicalaire par (...)

Lire la suite

INSOLITE (INterstellar SOlids LaboraTory Experiment)

La matière dans notre Galaxie évolue au sein d’un cycle contrôlé par de nombreux processus astrophysiques incluant diverses compositions, champs de rayonnement et densités. Les grains de poussière interstellaires subissent des interactions avec les rayonnements cosmiques et électromagnétiques, avec les particules énergétiques, interaction gaz-surface des grains, photochimie des glaces, construction d’entités moléculaires complexes organiques. La plupart des processus physiques qui sont à l’origine des (...)

Lire la suite

Spectroscopie par mesure du temps de déclin dans une cavité (CRDS)

Cette technique consiste à mesurer le temps de déclin d’une impulsion laser injectée dans une cavité optique rigide de haute finesse composée de 2 miroirs sphériques de très haute réflectivité. Quand la cavité est vide, le temps de déclin dépend seulement de la vitesse de la lumière, du coefficient de réflectivité des miroirs et de la longueur de cavité. Quand une espèce absorbante remplit la cavité, ce temps de déclin diminue. En mesurant la constante de temps de déclin pour la cavité vide et pour la cavité (...)

Lire la suite

BB-DEFCOM-CRDS

Récemment nous nous sommes engagés dans le développement d’un nouveau montage couplant 2 cavités et une technique de détection hétérodyne, introduite initialement par Chandler et al [1] et appelée "Dual Etalon Frequency Comb Cavity Ring-Down Spectrometer", mais étendue à des sources lasers à large bande. Le principe consiste à générer deux peignes de fréquence légèrement différents dans deux cavités optiques de haute finesse de longueurs très proches mais non égales. L’hétérodynage est utilisé pour mesurer (...)

Lire la suite

Nanograins

Au sein de ce dispositif, un brûleur plat (McKenna) fournit des flammes de prémélange d’hydrocarbures et d’oxygènes gazeux avec des richesses variées. Une telle flamme laminaire constitue un réacteur chimique à une dimension offrant une large gamme de conditions de combustion et d’échantillonnage des produits dérivés. Le brûleur est installé dans une chambre opérant à basse pression, typiquement entre 20 et 100 mbar par un pompage constant. Les produits de combustion sont ensuite extraits à travers un cône (...)

Lire la suite

Firefly

Ce montage comporte une cellule qui contient les molécules photo-excitées en phase gazeuse et le spectromètre FIREFLY (spectromètre dédié à la mesure de faibles signaux d’émission IR). Ce spectromètre dispose de filtres interférentiels circulaires variables de bande passante étroite, qui sont les répliques de ceux de l’instrument ISOCAM qui était embarqué sur le satellite ISO (1996-1998). Ces filtres possèdent une transmission élevée (75% à 3.3 μm) et un pouvoir de résolution modéré (λ/δλ = 45 à 3.3 μm). (...)

Lire la suite

Solar-CAPTE

Notre instrument est basé sur la méthode conventionnelle de photolyse flash par laser pour sonder l’absorption transitoire. Deux développements spécifiques ont été introduits. Nous utilisons un une source de lumière nanoseconde de type supercontinuum pour le laser de sonde et 1 ou 2 lasers pulsés nanosecondes pour des expériences pompe double-sonde séquentielles. Une caméra ICCD couple à un monochromateur est utilisée pour mesurer simultanément les spectres d’absorption transitoire pour deux cellules (...)

Lire la suite

AGAT

Les expériences sont conduites auprès de l’accélérateur Tandem d’Orsay, à l’IPNO, en utilisant le dispositif AGAT. Des collisions entre des ions moléculaires projectiles (Cn+, CnHm+, CnN+) délivrés par l’accélérateur Tandem et des atomes de gaz rare sont induites dans un jet de gaz d’épaisseur connue, ce qui permet d’en déduire des sections efficaces absolues. L’épaisseur peut être variée en changeant le débit de gaz à travers le capillaire du jet. Les fragments produits dans la collision sont défléchis, selon (...)

Lire la suite

SSAM (Submillimeter Spectrometer for Astrophysical Molecules)

Nous avons développé un spectromètre millimétrique et submillimétrique dédié à l’étude du spectre rotationnel de molécules stables et réactives d’intérêt astrophysique. Ce spectromètre, basé sur l’exploitation de sources électronique et d’une chaîne de multiplication de fréquence (VDI), permet de travailler dans la gamme 75 - 900 GHz, recouvrant ainsi idéalement les observations actuelles du milieu interstellaire avec par exemple ALMA et NOEMA.
Plusieurs dispositifs de production d’espèces instables peuvent être (...)

Lire la suite

FIR-Reacts

En partenariat avec la ligne AILES du centre de rayonnement synchrotron SOLEIL, notre équipe a développé deux ensembles expérimentaux permettant de sonder les compositions chimiques de décharges électriques par spectroscopie à haute résolution dans l’infrarouge lointain. La configuration des éléments optiques est identique pour les deux cellules d’absorption et permet d’atteindre environ 24m de trajet d’absorption dans les plasmas. Les deux cellules se différencient par la configuration des électrodes. (...)

Lire la suite

FIR-Carbons

En partenariat avec la ligne AILES du centre de rayonnement synchrotron SOLEIL, nous avons développé une cellule multipassage dont la configuration des éléments optiques permet d’atteindre un trajet d’absorption d’environ 150 m. Ce dispositif expérimental permet l’acquisition de spectres de molécules carbonées de grande taille (appartenant aux familles PAHs, diamandoides, biphényles, …) dont la structure rotationnelle est résolue grâce à l’interféromètre Bruker IFS 125 de la ligne AILES . De manière (...)

Lire la suite

Parc Laser

Laser à colorant TDL+ (Quantel) pompé par un laser Nd:YAG nanoseconde doublé ou triplé (Spectra-Physics, Pro-250) délivrant 120 mJ à 600 nm, avec un taux de répétition de 10 Hz. le faisceau en sortie du laser à colorant peut ensuite être doublé et triplé.
Oscillateur Paramétrique Optique (MOPO, Spectra-Physics) pompé par un laser Nd:YAG nanoseconde injecté et triplé en fréquence (Spectra-Physics, Pro-250) délivrant 60 mJ à 500 nm, avec un taux de répétition de 10 Hz.
OPO large bande (Basiscan, GWU) (...)

Lire la suite