ISMO

Institut des Sciences Moléculaires d'Orsay


Partenaires

CNRS UPS




Search

Friday 13 December


Site update
Monday 9 December


Home > Research Teams > Biophysics and Biophotonic > Super-resolution microscopy and time-resolved imaging > Microscopies au delà de la limite de diffraction

From microscopy to nanoscopy

by Leveque-Fort Sandrine - 17 August 2015

We develop new instruments to overcome the diffraction limit by engineering fluorophores transitions or emission. Three new microscopes are being developed to achieve lateral or axial ultimate resolutions. The supercritical fluorescence emission provides absolute way to retrieve the axial position of the fluorophore regarding the coverslip that support the cell. Supercritical fluorescence microscope (SAF) allows to improve the axial resolution and simultaneously view the events in the first 150 nm and within the cell by introducing selective detection of the emission of fluorophores. We also work on the coupling of SAF detection with super-resolution techniques:
- The super-localization microscope (SMLM Single Molecule Localization Microscopy) decouples the detection of the fluorophores located in the same response function, by inducing fluorescence stochastically in order to individually localize single molecule. The association with SAF detection is currently performed as part of Nicolas Bourg thesis. The microscope DONALD (Direct Optical Nanoscopy with Axially Localized Detection) achieves an isotropic localization precision below 20 nm
- The STimulated Emission Depletion(STED) can achieve a lateral resolution of 40 nm by a selective depletion of fluorophores located at the periphery of the focusing zone, inducing a volume of study inherently reduced. The device was developed during the PhD Siddharth Sivankutty and coupling with SAF detection is in progress.
These new nanoscopy setups are applied to the study of neurobiological issues (for Alzheimer’s disease, Huntington) and for understanding the mechanisms of adhesion.

Single Molecule Localization Microscopy - SMLM / DONALD

-Supercritical Angle Fluorescence Microscopy - SAF

Stimulated Emission Depletion microscopy -STED

ISMO

Institut des Sciences Moléculaires d'Orsay


Partenaires

CNRS UPS




Rechercher

mercredi 12 décembre


Mise à jour
samedi 8 décembre


Accueil > Équipes scientifiques > Biophysique, biophotonique > Super-resolution microscopy and time-resolved imaging > Microscopies au delà de la limite de diffraction

Microscopies au delà de la limite de diffraction

De la Microscopie à la nanoscopie du vivant

Nous développons de nouveaux instruments permettant de dépasser la limite de diffraction par une ingénierie des transitions des fluorophores ou de leur émission. Trois nouveaux microscopes sont en cours de développement afin d’atteindre des résolutions latérales ou axiales ultimes. L’émission de fluorescence supercritique permet d’obtenir de façon absolu la position axiale des fluorophores par rapport à la lamelle supportant la cellule. Le microscope de fluorescence supercritique (SAF) permet ainsi d’améliorer la résolution axiale et d’observer simultanément les événements sous les 150 premiers nanomètres et à l’intérieur de la cellule en introduisant une détection sélective de l’émission des fluorophores. Nous travaillons également au couplage de la détection SAF avec les techniques de super-résolution :
- Le microscope de super-localisation (SMLM Single Molecule Localization Microscopy) permet de découpler la détection des fluorophores situés dans une même fonction réponse, en induisant leur fluorescence de façon stochastique afin de pouvoir localiser individuellement et de façon successive les molécules émettrices. L’association avec la détection SAF est actuellement réalisée dans le cadre de la thèse de Nicolas Bourg. Le microscope DONALD (Direct Optical Nanoscopy with Axially Localized Detection) permet d’atteindre une précision de localisation isotrope sous les 20 nm
- Le microscope sous émission stimulée (STED) permet ainsi d’atteindre une résolution latérale de 40 nm par déplétion sélective des fluorophores localisés à la périphérie de la zone de focalisation, induisant un volume d’étude intrinsèquement réduit. Le dispositif a été mis en place au cours de la thèse de Siddharth Sivankutty et le couplage avec la détection SAF est en cours.
Ces nouvelles modalités de nanoscopie sont appliquées à l’étude de problématiques neurobiologiques (Maladie d Alzheimer, Huntington) et pour la compréhension des mécanismes d’adhésion.

Single Molecule Localization Microscopy - SMLM/DONALD

PNG - 212.9 ko

-Supercritical Angle Fluorescence Microscopy - SAF

PNG - 51.1 ko

Stimulated emission depletion microscopy -STED

JPEG - 33.9 ko